Connect with us
  • Elysium

Brain injury case management

CMSUK Awards 2023 – winners announced

Winners and runners-up revealed across eight categories in celebration ceremony held in London



The winners of the CMSUK Awards 2023 have been revealed. 

The annual awards were created to recognise and celebrate outstanding practice across case management and associated sectors in supporting people after life-changing injury or illness. 

With a theme of Exceeding Expectations for Clients, this year’s awards highlighted excellence in client service and commitment to delivering the best possible outcomes. 

Martin Hibbert, survivor of the Manchester Arena bomb and now a passionate campaigner for people living with spinal cord injury, was the inspirational guest speaker at the event, held at the London Hilton Tower Bridge. 

Over 250 guests at the lunch were left in tears as he described his journey from that fateful night in May 2017, when he and his daughter Eve were the closest survivors to the  suicide bomber. 

Both miraculously surviving, Martin’s spinal cord was severed and he is now paralysed, and Eve continues to defy all expectations in her recovery from serious brain injury. 

Martin presented the winners of the CMSUK Awards – sponsored by Regen Physio – with their accolades, which were judged by experts from across the sector, including Deborah Johnson, editor of NR Times. 

The winners and runners-up were: 


Catastrophic case manager of the year

Winner – Elaine Miller, Unite Professionals

Jason Chidwick, HCML

Shelley Westgate, Westgate Case Management 


Clinical case manager of the year

Winner – Lisa Dunthorne, Unite Professionals

Deborah Hathaway, Independence Works

Nick Haycock, HCML


Case management supporter (internal) of the year

Winner – Alarna Benson-Green, Coastal Case Management 

Rebecca Johansen, Corporé

Verity Clunies-Ross, Integrated Case Management 


Case management service provider (external) of the year

Winner – PsychWorks Associates

Cyber Spider

Remedy Healthcare 


Partnership initiative of the year

Winner – Corporé Major Incident Rehabilitation Service partnership

H’s journey with Coastal Case Management, Irwin Mitchell, Dorset Orthopaedic and Relimb

Independence Works, Addenbrooke’s Hospital, MTSP, Slater and Gordon, NFUM, STEPS Rehabilitation and STEPS Prosthetics


Rehabilitation Innovation of the Year

Winner – RTW Plus – ‘Understanding the invisible emotional influences on the perception of pain’

Reach Personal Injury Services – Headlight head trauma triage service

Unite Professionals – virtual rehabilitation clinic


Case Management Company of the Year (Large)

Winner – Unite Professionals 




Case Management Company of the Year (Small)

Winner – Emma Way Associates


Sue Ford, chair of CMSUK, said: “I am genuinely delighted with the resounding success of the CMSUK Awards. 

“This event marks a pivotal milestone for our organisation, a moment when we unite to acknowledge and celebrate the remarkable achievements of those dedicated to the field of case management. 

“It stands as a testament to the unwavering commitment and hard work of our professionals, who consistently demonstrate their dedication to improving the lives of individuals in need, serving as a true source of inspiration.

“The CMSUK Awards not only serve as a platform for recognising excellence but also provide an invaluable opportunity for networking and the exchange of best practices within our vibrant community. 

“I take immense pride in our collective accomplishments and eagerly anticipate the ongoing growth and innovation that our members contribute to the field of case management. 

“Congratulations to all the exceptional winners and nominees for their outstanding contributions.”