Connect with us
  • Elysium


Four unveiled on Research Project shortlist

Finalists all involved in life-changing research acknowledged by first-ever NR Times Awards



Four finalists have been named on the shortlist of Research Project of the Year in the NR Times Awards. 

The shortlist was drawn up on the strength of the nominations for the four projects, which demonstrated clear ambitions and end results, and a determination to deliver life-changing outcomes for patients. 

The finalists are:

Dr Alyson Norman, University of Plymouth

Dr Adrian Parry-Jones, University of Manchester

Dr Inga Stewart, St Andrew’s Healthcare

Tisch MS Centre of New York

The research category of the inaugural NR Times Awards – sponsored by Elysium Healthcare – was created to help showcase some of the outstanding academic-led work being undertaken to help save and change lives. 

Research is absolutely critical to underpinning change – and the four projects selected all display a determination to deliver advances in patient care and support. 

The category is sponsored by Askham Rehab, part of Askham Village Community, which is a family-run operation with more than 30 years’ experience of working in the sector, including a decade within the field of neuro-rehab.

“With so much innovation in the space, patients stand to benefit enormously from pioneering ideas, equipment and approaches,” says Aliyyah-Begum Nasser, director of Askham. 

“At Askham we believe it’s important that any innovation is supported by appropriate research to ensure it is not only safe but also effective for any user.

“We have worked with a variety of organisations to participate in research and bring the newest concepts to our patients. 

“We look forward to reviewing entries and will be looking for robust approaches to ensuring that the path from idea to implementation is fully supported with evidence based research.”

Following the shortlisting process, judging is now underway. 

Each category will be judged by its individual sponsor, plus a panel of independent judges – although any with a conflict of interest in a category will be exempt: 

  • John Davis, renowned neurotrauma specialist and consultant principal lawyer at Slater and Gordon
  • Vicki Gilman, chair of BABICM and founder of Social Return
  • Luke Griggs, chief executive of Headway
  • Chloe Hayward, chief executive of UKABIF

The winners will be revealed in our online NR Times Awards ceremony on October 26. 

In addition to the 11 categories which are judged by our panel, the Rehab Leader of the Year Award is decided by public vote, with scores of votes already being cast for our finalists. 

Make your vote count here