Connect with us
  • Elysium


Charity of the Year shortlist revealed

The ten finalists have been announced ahead of next week’s awards ceremony



The finalists in the Charity of the Year at the NR Times Awards have been revealed. 

The ten-strong shortlist was chosen on the strength of the submissions received for the Awards, which clearly showed the commitment of each charity in delivering on its ambitions and the dedication of its team in achieving that. 

The finalists are:

Child Brain Injury Trust

Headway Derby 

Headway Salford

Headway Worcester

Huntington’s Disease Association


Natalie Kate Moss Trust

Pink Concussions

Spinal Injuries Association

St Andrew’s Healthcare

The NR Times Awards, held for the first time this year and sponsored by Elysium Healthcare, have received scores of entries across 12 categories, all of which highlight and celebrate the dedication and innovation seen by individuals, teams and organisations working across the field of neuro-rehab.

The Charity of the Year award is sponsored by brain injury rehabilitation specialists Reach, which delivers home-based rehab on a national basis and has been supporting survivors to manage their own recovery since 1995. 

“I’m delighted that reach is sponsoring the Charity of the Year Award at the inaugural NR Times Awards,” says Heather Batey, founder and managing director of Reach. 

“There are wonderful charities within the rehabilitation sector, from acute family support through to inpatient rehab and longer-term community care, championing interventions for patients and families alike. 

“It is a delight to play even a small part in showcasing these inspiring and valuable and organisations.”

Following the shortlisting process, judging is now underway. 

Each category will be judged by its individual sponsor, plus a panel of independent judges – although any with a conflict of interest in a category will be exempt: 

  • John Davis, renowned neurotrauma specialist and consultant principal lawyer at Slater and Gordon
  • Vicki Gilman, chair of BABICM and founder of Social Return
  • Luke Griggs, chief executive of Headway
  • Chloe Hayward, chief executive of UKABIF

The winners will be revealed in our online NR Times Awards ceremony next week, on October 26. 

In addition to the eleven categories which are judged by our panel, the Rehab Leader of the Year Award is decided by public vote, with scores of votes already being cast for our finalists. 

Make your vote count here